Houzz Logo Print
buzzmummy

Is this bush alive or dead?!! Help!!

buzzmummy
vor 7 Jahren

Hello all, we are starting to get to grips with our garden and just been looking round the many varied shrubs we seem to have inherited in our new garden and come across this one. Not sure what it is but it has these pretty clusters of white flowers and from a distance looks quite nice! However every leaf has been vastly eaten by something! I can't see any sign of caterpillars or whatever but when you move the leaves sort of powdery stuff comes off. Any ideas if this is something I can sort out or am I best to chop the whole thing down?! Appreciate some help as I'm only a novice...;)

Kommentare (8)

• PRO
    Fusion interior design
    vor 7 Jahren

Viburnum I think. Lovely shrub and should have a nice fragrance. looks like a beetle attack, some research should show you how to get rid of them. Definitely alive and well worth keeping as evergreen and good for bees and birds :)

All the best,

Jason

http://www.gardenersworld.com/plants/plant-finder/viburnum-tinus/

buzzmummy hat Fusion interior design gedankt
  • Sonia
    vor 7 Jahren
    Looks like a Viburnum tinus to me, a lovely evergreen shrub that flowers winter/spring. Will grow to about 8-10 feet but can be pruned to keep it smaller. Sorry no idea what the problem is, but may be worth having a look on Gardeners World or RHS website, but I'm sure someone on here will have an answer soon!
    buzzmummy hat Sonia gedankt
  • buzzmummy
    Ursprünglicher Verfasser
    vor 7 Jahren

Hi thanks very much for your help. I've looked it up and it seems likely to be caused by Viburnum beetle which was apparently the no 1 pest in UK gardens last year!! I think my bush has had several years damage by the look of it.